in

Before Sunrise – in the footsteps of a movie

Filming locations in Vienna

Who does not know the classic “Before Sunrise” from the year 1994? In Vienna, one can walk the filming locations more than 20 years after the release of the film. The complete tour can not be done on foot, but by public transport. The stations are a bit apart, but it’s worth it! The film shows Vienna at its best.

ein Paar sitzt auf einem Dach und genießt den Sonnenaufgang
before sunrise CC0 Pixabay

Film Before Sunrise – Filming locations Vienna

Below we list the locations of the film.

Westbahnhof

One of the places that has probably changed the most is the Westbahnhof. Where used to be blue telephone signs, today there are digital displays and the whole station has turned into a glass shopping mall Bahnhofcity. Nonetheless, one feels immediately immersed in the movie.

Zollamtbrücke

Next, it goes to the customs office bridge. However, this is an hour’s walk away, making a trip on the subway to the station “Landstraße” rather worthwhile. From there it is only about 100m to the bridge where Jesse and Celine met two amateur actors in the movie.

View this post on Instagram

#zollamtssteg #zollamtsbrücke #wienfluss #Wien #Österreich #Vienna #austria #urban #architecture #discoveraustria #discovervienna #visitaustria #visitvienna #sundaymorning #sunshine #blueskies #oneplus #stadtspaziergang #igerswien #igersaustria #igersvienna

A post shared by rrexcell (@rrexcell) on

Old and new

The famous record shop in Windmühlgasse 10 still looks exactly like it did in 1994. Even the interior design fits. This is the best way to get there by tram.

Maria-Theresia-Place

This magnificent square between the Natural History Museum and the Kunsthistorisches Museum is particularly well-received in the film. While Celine and Jesse cross the square, the statues are zoomed in several times and you can admire Maria Theresia in full size. In the movie, however, there are significantly fewer tourists in the square than on a normal day.

Graveyard of the Nameless

From one of the most complete filming locations to one of the quietest in Vienna, the cemetery of the Nameless. Here, the city of Vienna buries all the unknown dead and Celine and Jesse find a little silence in the noisy city. The cemetery is also very remote. The best way to get here is the Silent Harbor.

Prater – Before Sunrise

The Ferris wheel in the Prater is the setting for the scene with the first kiss between Jesse and Celine. Even that could still be experienced today with a romantic view. Just take the train, bus or subway to the stop “Praterstern” and take a walk through the beautiful park.

Small Café and Maria am Gestade Church

Here, the main characters meet not only a fortune teller, but also walk through the streets as you can do today. The church Maria am Gestade and the café are located in a wonderfully central, but not overcrowded, location near St. Stephen’s Cathedral.

Arena – Music-Location

The legendary Arena arena is also glaring in the film. Littered with graffiti and with many musical talents, today it is bursting with more life than it did 20 years ago. Unfortunately, there are no Pinball games.

Café Sperl

The Café Sperl has retained its rustic charm. Where in the film Jesse and Celine mimic phone calls, you can sit today in the same velvet-based armchairs in front of the same paneling. A wonderfully old-fashioned place!

the Albertina

On the balcony in front of the Albertina, the main characters enjoy a magnificent view of the opera at night. The same should be true of visitors today, as it is much less crowded in the evenings than during the day. However, photos can be taken at any time of the day.

the Albrecht statue

Here, the characters enjoy their last minutes before they have to say goodbye and Jesse goes back to Westbahnhof. The monument is actually located on the Albertina, so it’s only a short walk to this last point of the tour.

in

Before Sunrise – auf den Spuren eines Films

Drehorte in Wien

Wer kennt nicht den Klassiker „Before Sunrise“ aus dem Jahre 1994? In Wien kann man auch mehr als 20 Jahre nach Erscheinen des Films die Drehorte nach-spazieren. Die komplette Tour kann man nicht zu Fuß, aber dafür mit den öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln bewältigen. Die Stationen sind zwar etwas von einander entfernt, doch es lohnt sich! Der Film zeigt Wien durchaus von seinen schönsten Seiten.

ein Paar sitzt auf einem Dach und genießt den Sonnenaufgang
before sunrise CC0 Pixabay

Film Before Sunrise – Drehorte Wien

Nachfolgend listen wir die Drehorte des Films auf.

Westbahnhof

Einer der Orte, die sich wohl am meisten verändert haben, ist der Westbahnhof. Wo früher blaue Telefonschilder hingen, gibt es heute digitale Anzeigen und der ganze Bahnhof hat sich in eine gläserne Shoppingmall verwandelt. Nichtsdestotrotz fühlt man sich gleich in den Film hineinversetzt.

Zollamtbrücke

Als nächstes geht es zur Zollamtbrücke. Diese ist allerdings eine Stunde Fußweg entfernt, wodurch sich ein Trip mit der U-Bahn zur Station „Landstraße“ eher lohnt. Von dort sind es nur etwa 100m zur Brücke, wo Jesse und Celine im Film zwei Amateurschauspieler getroffen haben.

View this post on Instagram

#zollamtssteg #zollamtsbrücke #wienfluss #Wien #Österreich #Vienna #austria #urban #architecture #discoveraustria #discovervienna #visitaustria #visitvienna #sundaymorning #sunshine #blueskies #oneplus #stadtspaziergang #igerswien #igersaustria #igersvienna

A post shared by rrexcell (@rrexcell) on

Alt und Neu

Der berühmte Schallplattenladen in der Windmühlgasse 10 sieht noch genauso aus wie 1994. Sogar die Inneneinrichtung passt. Hier kommt man am besten mit der Tram hin.

Maria-Theresia-Platz

Dieser prachtvolle Platz zwischen Naturhistorischem Museum und Kunsthistorischem Museum kommt auch im Film besonders gut zur Geltung. Währen Celine und Jesse den Platz überqueren, wird mehrmals an die Statuen herangezoomt und man kann Maria Theresia in ganzer Größe bewundern. Im Film gibt es aber deutlich weniger Touristen auf dem Platz als an einem normalen Tag.

Friedhof der Namenlosen

Von einem der vollsten Drehorte hin zu einem der stillsten in ganz Wien, dem Friedhof der Namenlosen. Hier begräbt die Stadt Wien alle unbekannten Toten und Celine und Jesse finden ein wenig Stille in der lauten Stadt. Der Friedhof ist allerdings auch sehr abgelegen. Am besten gelangt man hierher über den Albernen Hafen.

Prater – Before Sunrise

Das Riesenrad im Prater ist Schauplatz für die Szene mit dem ersten Kuss zwischen Jesse und Celine. Auch das könnte man heute noch bei romantischer Aussicht erleben. Einfach mit der Bahn, dem Bus oder der U-Bahn zur Haltestelle „Praterstern“ fahren und einen Spaziergang durch den herrlichen Park machen.

Kleines Café und Maria am Gestade Kirche

Hier begegnen die Hauptcharaktere nicht nur einer Wahrsagerin, sondern spazieren ebenso durch die Gassen wie man es heute noch tun kann. Die Kirche Maria am Gestade und das Café liegen herrlich zentral, aber dennoch nicht überfüllt in der Nähe des Stephansdoms.

Arena – Musik-Location

Die legendäre Spielstätte Arena kommt auch im Film grell zur Geltung. Mit Graffiti übersät und mit vielen musikalischen Talenten, strotzt sie heute noch fast von mehr Leben als vor 20 Jahren. Leider nur gibt es keine Pinballspiele.

Café Sperl

Das Café Sperl hat seinen urigen Charme behalten. Wo im Film Jesse und Celine Telefongespräche imitieren, kann man heute in den gleichen samtbezogenen Sesseln vor der gleichen Vertäfelung sitzen. Ein herrlich altmodischer Ort!

Die Albertina

Auf dem Balkon vor der Albertina genießen die Hauptcharaktere eine herrliche Aussicht über die Oper bei Nacht. Genauso sollten es auch Besucher heute halten, da es in den Abendstunden deutlich weniger voll ist als am Tag. Fotos können allerdings zu jeder Tageszeit geschossen werden.

Die Albrecht-Statue

Hier genießen die Charaktere ihre letzten Minuten bevor sie sich verabschieden müssen und Jesse zurück zum Westbahnhof geht. Das Monument befindet sich tatsächlich an der Albertina, sodass es nur ein kurzer Spaziergang ist zu diesem letzten Punkt der Tour.