in

Ronacher – Musicals and theatre

Vienna‘s newest musical stage, founded as the “Wiener Stadttheater”

Today, the venue between Himmelpfortgasse, Seilerstätte, and Schellinggasse is an attractive stage for urban musical theatre. Together with the Theater an der Wien and the Raimund Theater, it is a performance venue for the United Stages Vienna (VBW) and is almost 100% owned by the city itself.

Außenansicht des Theater Ronacher
Theatre, Ronacher establishment CC-BY-SA 4.0 Thomas Ledl/Wikimedia

Ronacher – Vienna City Theatre

In 1872, the Ronacher, founded as the Wiener Stadttheater (Vienna City Theatre), was envisioned as the counterpart of the imperial court theatres and aimed to attract its main audience from the Viennese bourgeoisie. However, shortly after its opening, it completely burned down and was rebuilt by a certain Anton Ronacher in 1886. The new Ronacher was an establishment where people could smoke, drink, and eat, and until the 1930s, the stage played host to classic variety theatre, where magicians and acrobats would showcase their artistic skills.

After the Second World War, it was replaced by the Burgtheater, which had been completely destroyed, but afterwards, it was forgotten. It was not until 1987, that it was resurrected by the VBW using it as a change of venue for the successful CATS show.

leerer Zuschauerraum
Audience hall in the Ronacher © VBW / Paul Ott

Nowadays, it not only uses state-of-the-art equipment, but it is also regarded as the latest musical stage.

Musicals – Productions from recent years

In 2009, the new Viennese edition of the cult musical Dance of the Vampires had its premiere. From September 2011 to the end of 2012, the musical Sister Act took to the stage. In February 2013, the Legally Blonde musical was premiered. The new version of The Phantom of the Opera, Love never dies was shown in October 2013, and for the first half of 2014, Der Besuch der alten Dame, based on the play by Friedrich Dürrenmatt, was performed and featured musical stars Pia Douwes and Uwe Kröger in the lead roles.

https://www.instagram.com/p/-zvdDdjdcp/?tagged=ronacherwien

From October 2014 to January 2016, audiences were wowed by the Broadway musical Mary Poppins, which was followed by cult musicals Evita and Don Camillo & Peppone, as well as a return of Dance of the Vampires.

360-degree view of the hall

How to reach the musical centre

Address: Seilerstätte 9, 1010 Vienna
Public transport: 
Tram line 2, station: Weihburggasse,
underground lines U1 and U3, station: Stephansplatz or U4, station: Stadtpark.
Map:

Further information on the current musical events

in

Ronacher – Musicals und Theater

Wiens neueste Musicalbühne, als „Wiener Stadttheater“ gegründet

Die Spielstätte zwischen Himmelpfortgasse, Seilerstätte und Schellinggasse gilt heute als attraktive Bühne des urbanen Musiktheaters. Mit dem Theater an der Wien und dem Raimund Theater ist es Aufführungsort der Vereinigten Bühnen Wiens und zu knapp hundert Prozent Eigentum der Stadt selbst.

Außenansicht des Theater Ronacher
Theater, Etablissement Ronacher CC-BY-SA 4.0 Thomas Ledl/Wikimedia

1872 sollte das als Wiener Stadttheater gegründete Ronacher das Pendant zu den kaiserlichen Hoftheatern werden und hauptsächlich das Wiener Bürgertum in die Säle locken. Kurze Zeit nach seiner Eröffnung brannte es jedoch völlig nieder und wurde 1886 von einem gewissen Anton Ronacher wiederaufgebaut. Das neue Ronacher war ein Etablissement, in dem geraucht, getrunken und gegessen werden konnte. Die Bühne wurde bis in die 1930er mit klassischem Variété-Theater bespielt – Zauberer und Akrobaten zeigten hier ihre Kunststücke.

Nach dem zweiten Weltkrieg ersetzte es das Burgtheater, welches völlig zerstört wurde – danach trat es jedoch in Vergessenheit und wurde erst von der VBW 1987 mit dem Spielortwechsel der Erfolgsproduktion CATS zu neuem Leben erweckt.

leerer Zuschauerraum
Zuschauerraum im Ronacher © VBW / Paul Ott

Heute ist es nicht nur technisch auf dem neuesten Stand, sondern gilt auch als neueste Musicalbühne.

Musicals – Produktionen der letzten Jahre

2009 feierte die neue Wiener Fassung des Kultmusicals Tanz der Vampire Premiere. Ab September 2011 bis Ende 2012, war das Musical Sister Act zu sehen. Im Februar 2013 feierte Natürlich Blond seine Premiere. Als neue Version von Das Phantom der Oper war im Oktober 2013 Love never dies zu sehen. Basierend auf dem Theaterstück von Friedrich Dürrenmatt und mit den Musicalstars Pia Douwes und Uwe Kröger in den Hauptrollen war es Der Besuch der alten Dame, welcher im ersten Halbjahr des Jahres 2014 aufgeführt wurde.

Ab Oktober 2014 bis Januar 2016 versetzte das Broadway Musical Mary Poppins das Publikum in staunen. Danach folgten das Kultmusical Evita, Don Camillo & Peppone und eine Wiederkehr von Tanz der Vampire

360-Grad Ansicht des Saales

Anreise und Lage des Musical-Zentrums

Adresse: Seilerstätte 9, 1010 Wien
Öffentliche Verkehrsmittel: Straßenbahnlinie 2 -> Station Weihburggasse
U1 und U3 -> Station Stephansplatz oder U4 ->Station Stadtpark.
Karte: 

Weitere Informationen zu den aktuellen Musical-Veranstaltungen