Having been built as early as 1130, Liechtenstein Castle has once again been under ownership of the Liechtenstein family since 1880, after being home to various “castle lords” for several centuries. Today, it is managed by the Stiftung Fürst Liechtenstein (Prince of Liechtenstein Foundation) and guided tours through the castle are also offered. Every year, festivals take place at the west side of the castle walls.
To build Liechtenstein Castle, liechter Stein (bright stone) was used from the nearby Roman quarry of St. Margarethen, which is also most likely where it gets its name.
The royal house and its ancestral seat
Liechtenstein Castle was built on the orders of Hugo von Petronell as a fortification. It was part of the defensive embankment at the Thermenlinie (a line of thermal springs in Lower Austria). When construction on the castle was complete, Petronell took the name “von und zu Liechtenstein” (of Liechtenstein) and thus founded the principality of the same name.
In the 13th century, the castle was passed over to the Wallseer family. Between 1300 and 1800, it frequently changed hands. In 1529, at the time of the Siege of Vienna, Liechtenstein Castle was destroyed and Georg Freysleben was granted fief of the castle under the condition that he would rebuilt it. In 1607, it was destroyed further and then fell under free ownership of the Khevenhüller family. In summer 1683, it was then completely destroyed during the Second Turkish Siege of Vienna.
Liechtenstein Castle is once again rebuilt
In 1808, the castle was bought back by Johann I of Liechtenstein and entered a period of restoration. In 1903, after a lengthy process where it was restored and modernised in consideration of the original elements and rooms, construction work was provisionally completed. However, at the end of the Second World War, it was then heavily damaged and ransacked under Soviet occupation.
The castle was once again restored and from 1960 to 2007, was the home of the resident Scouts association. Today, guided tours are offered here and festivals are organised.
Guided tours are held every day from March to October. Limited tour times apply between November and February.
Video about Liechtenstein Castle:
Sie sehen gerade einen Platzhalterinhalt von Standard. Um auf den eigentlichen Inhalt zuzugreifen, klicken Sie auf den Button unten. Bitte beachten Sie, dass dabei Daten an Drittanbieter weitergegeben werden.
How to reach the castle building
Address: Am Hausberg 2, 2344 Maria Enzersdorf
Sie sehen gerade einen Platzhalterinhalt von Standard. Um auf den eigentlichen Inhalt zuzugreifen, klicken Sie auf den Button unten. Bitte beachten Sie, dass dabei Daten an Drittanbieter weitergegeben werden.Mehr Informationen
Visitor information on the opening hours for the castle facility