Until 1889, Schloss Mayerling was a hunting lodge in Mayerling, Lower Austria. Located to the south-west of Vienna, today it accommodates the Discalced Carmelites of Carmel St. Joseph. The first documented naming of the lodge can be dated back to 1136. Around the year 1200, the property was given to Heiligenkreuz Abbey and has been its possession for almost 700 years.
In the 19th century, the residence of the lodge consisted of a separate servant’s wing and the Elizabeth wing. In 1887, the grounds were acquired by Austrian Crown Prince Rudolf Mayerling. Subsequently, the complex was modernised and converted into a hunting lodge.
After the Crown Prince passed away, the land was acquired by Emperor Franz Josef in 1889 and transformed into a convent for the Discalced Carmelites.
Crown Prince Rudoph – the tragedy
Crown Prince Rudolph died in the place where the lodge and thus the Karmel Mayerling stands today. He met his death there along with Mary Vetsera, who was 17 at the time. Today, it still remains unclear what led to this tragedy. Visitors can immerse themselves into the time period through display boards and interesting tours
The furniture from Schloss Mayerling can also be seen at the Imperial Furniture Collection, among it the bed where Crown Prince Rudolf and his beloved Mary Vetsera were found dead.
Holy Mass is held from Monday to Saturday at 6:45 a.m. On Sundays and holidays, Mass begins at 7:00 p.m.
From November to March, the convent is open on Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. On Tuesdays and Fridays, it opens its doors from 10:30 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. During the months between April and October, it is open from 9:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. Group tours are possible at a separate time if booked and arranged in advance.
In addition to the neo-classicist style elements and the religious sights, visitors are, of course, enthralled by the tragedy surrounding Crown Prince Rudolf and his beloved.
360-degree exterior view of the building
How to reach the hunting lodge
Address: Mayerling 3, 2534 Mayerling
Further information on the opening hours and visiting the abbey.